Deaconess Ministry

President: Ruby Melvin

Vision: To be exemplary female servant leaders who minister to the needs of the congregation and community; give Christian care during a crisis and partner with and support the Mt. Vernon Missionary Baptist church ministries in workshops, activities, mission projects and fellowships.

Our duties include assisting with church ordinances, supporting the clergy, ministering to the needy and educating female church members. While deaconesses are sometimes ordained, they’re typically considered part of the lay ministry.

Deaconess Office
Deaconess Ruby Melvin President
Deaconess Rachel Sanders Vice-President
Deaconess Shanta Kendle Secretary
Deaconess Dinah Vereen Treasurer 
Sister Meghan Jordan-Williams First Lady